Skip to Main Content Skip to Site Map Skip to Accessibility Statement

Social Work success at Professional in Practice Awards 2023

26th June 2023

Professional in Practice (PIP) Awards 2023

37 Social workers from Belfast Trust were recognised for their commitment to shaping the future of Social Work as the Northern Ireland Social Care Council hosted its first in-person Professional in Practice Awards ceremony since 2019 on Tuesday 13th June.

The ceremony recognises social workers who have completed a Professional in Practice Award that reflects commitment to learning and dedication to delivering outstanding social work practice across Northern Ireland.

The theme for this year’s ceremony was ‘Valuing Continuous Professional Development’ and was an opportunity for the Social Care Council and its partners to celebrate the profession of social work and the vital work social worker’s do across a wide range of settings.

Speaking at the ceremony, Aine Morrison, Chief Social Work Officer for the Department of Health, said: “As Social Workers we practice in an ever-evolving world so it is important that we meet our professional responsibilities to ensure that our practice is research informed, ethical and up to date. We owe it to the services users, carers and communities that we work with to be the best that we can be. Those who received awards today, should be very proud as members of the social work profession and I am in awe of their dedication to improving their evidence-based practice through their continued learning journey.”

Eileen McKay, Deputy Executive Director of Social Work at Belfast Trust, said: “Congratulations to our Social Workers who achieved their Professional in Practice Awards. Their commitment to learning and development during challenging times reflects their dedication to professionalism and to ensuring that they are equipped to deliver the highest quality of care to those who use our social work services. Supporting staff with continued professional development is essential to building confidence and professionalism in practice and is a key priority for the Trust.

“I congratulate them all and wish to thank them and all our Social Work team for their ongoing commitment and dedication to our service”.

Consolidation Award

Specialist Award

Leadership and Strategic Award

Larissa Breen
Catherine Connor
Emma Courtney
Lauren Hinds
Jamie Johnston
Sarah Martin
Samantha Murphy
Raymond O’Donnell
Melissa Rea
Howard Beverland
Sharon Brannigan
Annette Carter
Joanne Christian
Sarah Clements
Julie Duffy
Martina Dwyer
Jonathan Giles
Claire Gorman
Laura Hyde
Coumilah Manjoo
Tracey McConnell
Patricia McGookin
Aureliana-Nicoleta Mihalache
Mark Mulligan
Nicole Murray
Ryan Murray
Sharon Murray
Ruth Neill
Sarah O’Sullivan
Kirsty Quigg
Grace Smyth
Lindsay Smyth
Philip Teer
Jackilene Weatherup
Tim Wilson
Lorraine Lyttle
Megan Quinn